23 West Virginia Teachers Earn Arch Coal ‘Golden Apples’

From an April 10, 2007 Arch Coal email news release.

Congratulations to the teachers on their awards. WELL DONE!

Media – Kim Link 314/994-2936

Tuesday, April 10, 2007

 23 West Virginia Teachers Earn Arch Coal ‘Golden Apples’

Charleston, W.Va. (April 10, 2007) – Twenty-three West Virginia classroom teachers have earned Golden Apple awards from the Arch Coal Foundation, according to John R. Snider, Arch Coal, Inc. vice president for external affairs.

Last month, the Arch Coal Foundation gave Teacher Achievement Awards to 12 outstanding West Virginia teachers, Snider reported.

“The teachers receiving the Golden Apple awards are outstanding in every respect and finished closely behind those who received the achievement awards,” Snider said. “Our judges – teachers who have received the achievement award in the past – had a very difficult task in determining this year’s recipients. There were many superior applications.

“I hope that the Golden Apple recipients will apply again, because they narrowly missed being selected for the achievement awards,” Snider said. “It is reassuring to Arch Coal and the business community that West Virginia’s children are in good hands
in their classrooms. The state is fortunate to have so many talented teachers.”

The Golden Apple recipients are:

Dinah Adkins Point Harmony Elementary School Cross Lanes
Karen Arms Man High School Man
Diana Kay Arthur Fairview Elementary School Fairview
Kelly Beckett Franklin Elementary Center Parkersburg
Linda Gayle Boley Meadow Bridge Elementary Meadow Bridge
Brenda Gayla Bunn Village of Barboursville Elementary Barboursville
Patricia Cain Calhoun-Gilmer Career Center Grantsville
Jane Ann Conrad Brandywine Elementary School Brandywine
Cheryl Cottrill Parkersburg High School Parkersburg
Helen Virginia Furioli Wellsburg Middle School Wellsburg
Sarah Twigg Gaughenbaugh John Marshall High School Glen Dale
Stacy Greer Woodsdale Elementary School Wheeling
Linda Grose Elkins High School Elkins
Gene Hovatter Barbour County Technical Center Phillipi
Beverly Lynne Kibler Poca High School Poca
Robin Sue McCants Hedgesville High School Hedgesville
Joyce Michaels Frankfort Middle School Ridgeley
Greg Minter Nuttall Middle School Lookout
Debora Lynn Nicholson Bridgeport High School Bridgeport
Katie Jo Owens Ritchie County Middle School Ellenboro
Debra Ann Sowards Scott Teays Elementary School Scott Depot
Jill Stemple Rock Cave Elementary School Rock Cave
Kathy Swanson Ashford-Rumble Elementary School Ashford


The Arch Coal Teacher Achievement Awards program is the longest running, privately sponsored teacher recognition program in the state. Teachers are nominated by the public and selected by award-winning teachers. The awards program is supported by the West Virginia Department of Education, the West Virginia Education Association and its West Virginia Foundation for the Improvement of Education, and the West Virginia Library Commission.

Arch Coal, Inc. is one of the nation’s largest coal producers. The company’s core business is providing U.S. power generators with clean-burning, low-sulfur coal for electric generation. Through its national network of mines, Arch supplies the fuel for approximately 6 percent of the electricity generated in the United States. The company is listed on the New York Stock
Exchange (NYSE: ACI) and maintains its corporate headquarters in St. Louis, Mo.


10. April 2007 by
Categories: Asia, carbon, Education | Comments Off on 23 West Virginia Teachers Earn Arch Coal ‘Golden Apples’